Tri

Image

Image

There is nothing quite like the stillness of a Sunday afternoon, especially when the weather is warm. I’m thankful for a warm, still Sunday afternoon today.

It’s been a good weekend. Fort Leavenworth is mostly a school environment. Every year it holds a triathlon for the schoolhouse. Yesterday my soldier participated in that triathlon. It was his first tri. He has wanted to do one for as long as I can remember, but has just never had an opportunity for various reasons. When we moved here two years ago, one of the very first things he did was purchase a used tri bike. Life was crazy that first year, and he spent most of his time running with me. Then last year his leg gave out right before the triathlon here on Post, and it really set him back physically for a while. He mentioned about a month ago that the tri was coming up and that he wanted to sign up. Without even hesitating, I told him he should. Last year it was so cold they cancelled the swim part of the tri. This year, though, the weather could not have been better. Sunny and in the 50’s when the tri was going on. Absolutely perfect. It was so fun trying to meet him all over Post … when he was on his bike and when he was running. It was fun to surprise him by being there when he came around the corner, and over the hills. I was just praying his leg would hold out, and not only did it, but he came in 19th overall (85 total athletes), and second for his age group! I was so happy for him.

That said, it wasn’t a huge triathlon, or one that would qualify anyone for an Ironman or anything like that. And my soldier certainly would say it wasn’t that big of a deal. But as I thought about it, I thought about there are so many opportunities in life to have … if we would just go out and have them. Oh the things we miss by dreaming only with our eyes closed! I am also reminded of blessings that we miss because they are not huge in the world’s eyes, so we therefore consider them small in our own. The bottom line is that we are to give thanks to God in all things, for “from Him and to Him and through Him are all things.” (Romans 11.36)

Life is such a gift. May we always seek to live it to the fullest, and may we always give thanks to Him from whom all blessings flow.

Congratulations to my soldier for his accomplishment this weekend! Thank you for the example you seek to set daily, not just for the younger Officers and soldiers around you, but for the girls and for me.

 

One thought on “Tri

Leave a comment